Round 3 Qld State ITT – Race report and photos

What a cracking morning it was out at our favourite TT course at Middle Road, with some impressive performances put in from the moment the first rider was released.

The sunshine brought the temperature up to double figures relatively early despite the chilly start to the morning. Several riders arrived nice and early to get an opportunity for a course recon and a bit of a warm up. As usual, our dedicated volunteers got the course set up, the rego desk going and cleared the road of gravel and roadkill.

The first riders out were the U15s who completed the 10 km course. T. Tomkinson (Balmoral CC) was the fastest boy with a cracking time of 15.38. In the girls category it was I. Carnes (Balmoral CC) who won with a time of 17.52.

In the U17 boys division, Darling Downs CC rider D. Trezise completed the 15 km course to take out first place in a time of 22.58.

The course was extended to 20 km for the remainder of the day for our U19, Elite and Masters riders, competing in combined grades A through to D.

D Grade was mostly made up of novice riders on temporary memberships, with most full licence holders promoted to C Grade for this event. We really hope that the novice riders enjoyed their experience because we’d love to see you come back!

In first place for the women’s division was Robyn Moore of Balmoral CC with a time of 37.21. In first place for the men was Stephen Ketley, riding on a 3 race membership. Stephen’s time was 34.54, which we’re sure the State Handicapper will note when Stephen upgrades!

A number of para-athletes completed the 20 km course with their times factored due to the range of classifications entered (B2, C3, C4, H3, H4 and T2). In first place was Cameron Kosmala (Balmoral CC).

Heather Wilson (UQCC) was the fastest C Grade woman with a time of 34.11, while the men’s C Grade category was won by Jason Denson (Murwillumbah CC) at 29.47.

The fastest time posted for the B Grade men was 28.38, with Mark Croonen (Hamilton Wheelers) beating the second-placed rider by two seconds. Again, Murwillumbah CC achieved a win with Amanda Kyneur winning the B Grade women’s race with a time of 31.35.

The fastest A Grade woman was Jacqui Mengler-Mohr (Gold Coast CC) with a very slick time of 30.25, almost a full minute clear of the second-placed rider. Tom Gough (Darling Downs CC) continued his recent good form to win the men’s A Grade at a blistering pace, with a time of 26.44.

Ipswich Cycling Club thanks everyone who attended to make this event a success, in particular the volunteers and commissaires.

For a full list of results, go to the CQ website by clicking this link.

We also hope you enjoy the photos below, taken by Ipswich CC member, Rory Church. Thanks, Rory!

Cheers all,


Comments are closed.